The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

Brake Advice

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Exp. Type
HPDE
Exp. Level
3-5 Years
MI
Hi All,

I’m planning on doing my first brake job on my track car before the season begins. I would love any input/guidance, as this is my first time doing such a job on a track car.

The car itself is a Foxbody notch with Cobra front and rear brakes. The car sees about 4-5 track days per year, and is driven sparingly on the road.

Initial thoughts include:
- Hawk DTC-70 pads up front. DTC-60 pads in the rear.
- Motul RBF600 fluid
- Ford OEM rotors.

Sorry for the basic questions, but I rely on this board heavily and everyone has been super helpful and patient in the past!

Any input/guidance would be very much appreciated!

Thanks!

Exp. Type
Time Attack
Exp. Level
3-5 Years
SoCal
Hi All,

I’m planning on doing my first brake job on my track car before the season begins. I would love any input/guidance, as this is my first time doing such a job on a track car.

The car itself is a Foxbody notch with Cobra front and rear brakes. The car sees about 4-5 track days per year, and is driven sparingly on the road.

Initial thoughts include:
- Hawk DTC-70 pads up front. DTC-60 pads in the rear.
- Motul RBF600 fluid
- Ford OEM rotors.

Sorry for the basic questions, but I rely on this board heavily and everyone has been super helpful and patient in the past!

Any input/guidance would be very much appreciated!

Thanks!