The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

Brake Performance, Need Help/Advice

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Exp. Type
Time Attack
Exp. Level
3-5 Years
SoCal
Hey TMO family, I have a brake question for you all, but first some back story.

I'm somewhat new to the track life, did my first event last May with a bone stock car. Since then, I've tried to make sure my brakes are up to the challenge. Currently, my brake setup is as follows: factory Brembo calipers, G-LOC R12/10, Motul RBF600, Vorshlag deflectors, and finally cheap Centric C-Tek rotors. I've been trying to maintain some sort of budget (though we all know how difficult that is) and that included going cheap on the rotors. A friend recommended these rotors to me and said he has been using them for years for track duty without issue. I have done 1 day at Chuckwalla and 2 days at Willow Springs (Big Willow) on this exact setup and my rotors look smeared with pad material. Does this mean they are getting too hot?? I believe my pads, fluid, and cooling deflectors should be sufficient but maybe these rotors can't handle the heat??

I'm also feeling a slight osculation or pulsating feeling in the pedal under hard braking. Similar to having multiple pad compounds on the rotors (I've done that before) but I know that is not the case. These are brand new pads on brand new rotors.

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated! I'll try to upload a picture of the rotors when I get home today.