The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

Pushing S550 Mach1 hard on track = burnt fuel pump

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Exp. Type
HPDE
Exp. Level
5-10 Years
Mirabel, Quebec, Canada
I am an experienced road course/HPDE driver and instructor. My previous track car was a 2011 BMW 135i, pushing about 400HP/ft-lbs, used for about 8 years.

Well into my 4th track day with the 2022 Mach1/HP with 12,500Kms/7700 Miles on the odometer, the car stuttered and eventually died. OBD code reader revealed low fuel pressure. Needless to say, I needed to get towed off the track (red flag), and then towed home as this happened on a late Friday afternoon, after dealership business hours. I did not want to let the car sitting outside of dealership, unattended for a whole week-end.

The car had a half tank of fuel when this happened. Ambient temperature was relatively hot, around 29*C ( 85*F).
All fuses and relayed checked out good. OBD codes generated were P00C6, P0087, P008A (Fuel Rail pressure too low/ Low pressure Fuel system, etc).

The Monday after, I used Ford Road Side assistance to get the M1HP towed from home to dealership, where a bad fuel pump was the root cause. Part should arrive within 2-3 biz days.

My verdict is that perhaps the fuel pump lacked cooling due to G forces/starvation, as I was driving the car hard on 100TW sticky tires and Hawk DTC70 race pads.